Reviews

What a fantastic find, brilliant Hut with everything you need and more, hot tub is great and easy to use. The grounds are very peaceful and look fab. Andrew and Clare have done amazing job creating a special place and are fab hosts. Thanks for the Chilli which was lovely and the birthday cookie. Will certainly revisit and can fully recommend.
read more
Steven Crozier 5/13/2024
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1
What a fabulous place to stay! So cosy and relaxing. Clare and Andrew went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Everything about Hartlake escapes is special and will forever hold a place in our hearts ❤️
We cannot wait to return!
read more
Stacey 4/30/2024
Myself and my husband have recently stayed in the hollow at hart lake Escapes (12th -14th April 2024) and what an amazingly beautiful place it is. Nothing was too much trouble for Clare and her family and we were made to feel very welcome, with a lovely slow cooker meal cooking when we arrived, a breakfast pack in the fridge and all the information given to us about our stay and the shepherds hut we stayed in. It was an amazingly relaxing weekend, the hut was beautifully decorated and clean with lots of little home comforts. We will definitely be back to stay again. Thank you for such a lovely weekend
Emma and Tim
read more
Emma Coy 4/18/2024
Wonderful stay at Hart Lake Escapes. The hut we stayed in (The Den) was beautiful and had everything we needed for a weekend away. Set on stunning grounds. Loved the wood fired hot tub. Great location with lots to do in the nearby area. Thank you so much to the owners Andrew and Clare for the delicious food and for making our trip extra special. We will definitely return!
read more
Carey Whitwam 4/03/2024
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2
I would thoroughly recommend staying here! It’s so cute and Clare and Andrew are the most friendly thoughtful hosts. The huts are spotless, super cute and cosy, the hot tub is amazing. Amazing stay, thank you 🥰
read more
Bethany Philpott 3/10/2024
From start to finish Andy and Claire couldn’t do enough for us. The whole process was flawless. This place was everything we imagined and more we had such a good time on our Valentines getaway. The Cabins have everything you need, are really comfortable and the hot tubs are excellent and easy to use. Can’t wait to come back in the summer. Highly recommended
Andy and Elisa
read more
Andy Edgar 2/17/2024
Absolutely amazing weekend at Hart Lakes. Jacuzzi was amazing, the cabin had everything you could possibly need for a weekend in the woods. Plenty of wood to keep warm inside and the hot tub. Great value for money and Andrew and claire went over a beyond to make our stay really enjoyable. Would 100% recommend and come back!
read more
Petra Adebola 2/14/2024
Just got home from a 3 night stay for the partners birthday. This place is amazing, the site is beautiful, the hot tubs are lovely, the location is perfect and Andrew and Clare go above and beyond to make sure every little detail is taken care of. We had one of Clare’s slow cooker meals when we arrived which was lovely and so convenient and Clare and Andrew even left a birthday card and cookie for my partner for his birthday. We enjoyed breakfast outside each morning, even in February! Because the atmosphere so so peaceful and relaxing.
We have had a lovely time and will most definitely be going back
read more
Rebecca Boardman 2/08/2024
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2media thumbnail 3
Just spent 3 Nights at Hart Lake Escapes. Had an amazing stay, everything about it was perfect and the location was great as you could get a quick bus journey into York from just outside the front but also drive across to the North York Moors, Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay. The wood burning hot tub made it really special and there was loads of facilities inside the cabin to allow you to do your own cooking if you wanted! The extra bunting, balloons and cake for my birthday made it extra special. Highly highly recommend!
read more
Tansy 2/05/2024
Had an amazing 2 night break here for our January birthdays! The huts, hot tubs, surroundings and hospitality were top class! They have thought of everything to make it a very relaxing stay. We will definitely be back!
read more
Davina Hulme 1/29/2024
We stayed here for 2 nights last year, I can safely say that it was an excellent experience. Andrew is such an amazing host we felt so welcomed, he even made special arrangements for our arrival, as it was his daughter’s birthday and he made time to greet us and get us when we arrived m. Unfortunately we did not get to meet Claire his wife on this occasion, but look forward to meeting her next time. Everything was perfect from the food to the hot tub, the grounds are beautiful and pretty. Thank you for a great stay Andrew. Leo and Natasha, sorry for the delay in doing this review.
Best of luck!’
read more
Leo Zade 1/22/2024
Thank you to Andy and Clare for an amazing stay. Andy was amazing at showing us around and every attention to detail taken care of. Clares slow cooked meals are a treat. The shepherds huts are very relaxing, spotless and with the hottubs and romantic setting perfect setting for couples. Thank you for making my birthday perfect, we will be back 😊
read more
Asher Sykes 1/15/2024
Wonderful way to escape reality for a few days. Andrew and Claire are the perfect hosts, they thought of everything! Very quirky shepherds hut but with all mod cons. Had a brilliant few days and will definitely be back
read more
Mandy Dalby 1/06/2024
An absolutely brilliant experience staying at Hart Lake Escapes. Andrew and Clare are fantastic and generous hosts and do an exceptional job taking care of guests. We had dinner in the slow cooker made for us on arrival and the hot tub fired up, such a treat. Great location for day trips to York, Castle Howard and Whitby, and soaking in the hot tub at the end of the day takes every stress away. This is not your average 'shepherds hut' experience, lots of mod cons and luxuries, and the wood-fired hot tub is pure bliss.
read more
Rachelle V Knowles 1/03/2024
We had an amazing time at Hart Lake Escapes. The location is perfect for day trips into York and local places to eat nearby. Andrew and Clare had the hot tub ready for us when we arrived which was lovely! The hut everything we needed and was like a home away from home.
read more
Sydney Smith 12/19/2023
Me and my partner stayed in the nest and what an amazing experience it was! The whole weekend was amazing! It was the most relaxing weekend we've had together, it was snowing outside and so cozy inside with the fire lit. We also drank hot chocolate in the hot tub while snowing and again nice and warm. If you want quality time with those you love I'd recommend Hart lake escapes. Will definitely be coming back
read more
Chris Morton 12/18/2023
A perfect place to stay..... Andrew is a firstly class host. Our shepherd's hut was luxurious and well equipped. We had everything we needed and more, attention to detail is impressive.
A good location allowing easy access to surrounding area and places of interest.
read more
Heather Money 12/11/2023
24th-26th November 2023
Our lovely getaway to Hart Lake Escapes was a wedding present and we truly had such a wonderful weekend.
We knew our stay was going to be great just based on the great communication we had with both Andrew and Clare before arriving.
We opted to pay for a slow cooker meal (fajitas) which was sizzling away in our hut when we arrived (super yummy). Our Hot tub was also warming up for us so we were able to get straight in once we unpacked.
We stayed in the Hollow hut and it was absolutely stunning. Andrew and Clare had left us some lovely gifts to celebrate as newlyweds which was a total surprise for us!
We could’ve stayed here for a week! 2 nights wasn’t long enough. Truly a stunning, relaxing weekend and if you want to head into York the bus stop is right outside (so easy)!
Super comfy bed, log burner, cooking facilities, hot shower, smart TV, lots of coffee/tea/breakfast goodies (I could go on).
We can’t wait to come back to Hart Lake Escapes.
Thanks so much Andrew and Clare.
Beth and Jordan xx
read more
B Sum 11/28/2023
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2media thumbnail 3
We had the most wonderful stay at Hart Lake Escapes. From booking to checking out we felt so well looked after, customer service is second to none from Andrew and Clare. Having stayed in similar luxury set ups in the past we were absolutely blown away by the attention to detail in 'The Warren'.
The decor is just gorgeous, there are so many little touches that make the shepherd's hut feel cosy and welcoming. The hot tub was amazing - our hosts kindly had this pre-lit for us. Andrew was helpful during check in and gave us lots of recommendations which were much appreciated. Location wise you won't find anywhere better, the bus took around 20 minutes into York and we enjoyed exploring the Christmas market, pubs and restaurants.
The Christmas decorations around the site were a gorgeous touch and super festive 🎄
We both had an amazing stay and went home feeling thoroughly recharged.
We would 100% recommend and are super grateful for such a wonderful time away.
read more
Natalie Johnstone 11/26/2023
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2media thumbnail 3
We had a fantastic stay at Hart lake escapes, it really was a wonderful escape.
Andrew and Clare are lovely, kind, friendly people and the attention to detail in the shepherd's hut was impeccable.
I can highly recommend a stay and look forward to stopping again soon.
read more
Richard Barwick 11/20/2023
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at Hart Lakes! Clare and Andrew were incredible hosts and made us feel so welcome. They have thought of every detail with their huts. We had a lovely relaxing time as part of our honeymoon and it is only a short drive into York. Will definitely be returning!
read more
Layla Maciver 11/01/2023
We have just got back from our long weekend away, it was well needed and the perfect escape from every day life. The location is perfect it allows you to feel like you have escaped but then it’s only a 15 minute bus ride into the city centre for shopping and drinks. The hot tub was amazing and was just what we needed after a full day shopping!
The extras that are available are amazing and a perfect add on to make your weekend extra special. Thank you so much, we will definitely be back.
Emily and Brad x
read more
Emily Gell 10/18/2023
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2media thumbnail 3
WOW !!!! what an amazing place for a romantic escape.
Clare and Andrew are the perfect hosts so warm and welcoming .
We stayed in The Hollow which was divine everything you could possibly need is provided. Bed and bedding so comfortable
The welcome pack is a lovely touch and the brownie was to die for.
The hot tub and log burner are easy to light and maintain with all kindling and logs provided and restocked at no added cost.
The hut is well though out and furnished to the highest standard and the shower hot and powerful with gorgeous neals yard toiletries to use.
Surroundings add to the whole experience, sitting by the lake with a drink was so relaxing
We cannot wait to return 😊❤️
read more
annabel lunn 10/16/2023
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1
Stayed twice now and loved every moment. By far some of the best hosts we've ever had the pleasure of meeting. All the little extras they take the time to prepare don't go unnoticed and make for a very comfortable stay. Stayed for a birthday and an anniversary and have been spoiled both times. Always my first recommendation for anyone wanting a glamping getaway. You can even fish the lake.
Perfect, thank you
read more
super ted 10/13/2023
Absolutely amazing few days - the place is extremely beautiful and peaceful, hot tub is massive and the huts are designed and thought of in such a way that there was not one single thing we could have needed and it not being already there, conveniently placed.
Location is awesome as well, with just a few steps to the bus station that takes you to the centre of York if you're feeling like having a walk or eating out, although Hart Lake Escapes do provide grills, meals, everything from vinegar to milk to anything you may need. Toiletries were awesome as well, really good quality, even the pillows were thoughtfully placed, with a soft and a hard one per person. The list goes on, I could ramble for days - I cannot wait to escape back there, thank you so very much Andrew for always being available and checking on us and very much looking forward to meet Claire as well as we managed to somehow miss her this weekend.
Thank you very much for an amazing and very much needed few days!
read more
Diaconita Andreea 10/03/2023
Perfect for a couples holiday! The cabins and hosts are lovely. The optional slow cooked meal on arrival was extremely tasty and the hot tub was a great way to relax in the evening.
read more
BluMyst 9/27/2023
Just spent a wonderful 3 nights at Hart Lake Escapes. Andrew and Clare's attention to detail shines through within the grounds and accommodation. Nothing was ever too much trouble, such a lovely couple who deserve every success as they build the business. Hosts can sometimes be over bearing but they were a pleasure to stop and chat with....AND...Clare's beef in Guinness slow cooked meal is to die for too. Also, if you love dogs you have to meet their Woodie, he's adorable.
read more
John Tinkler 9/15/2023
Would recommend this place to anyone. Run by a lovely family that put every single effort in to make it the most enjoyable stay possible! The attention to detail is amazing, everything has been thought through to the very last detail! The huts all have their own privacy which is perfect and the grounds that they are located on are well kept and lovely to walk around. Andrew and Clare are so so helpful, couldn’t get any better. Everything is clean and feels so homely. Bus only takes 15 minutes into the centre, so easy and accessible on an app that Andrew showed us. Amazing , can’t wait to return!
read more
millie cotton 9/07/2023
We would thoroughly recommend this little place for a break away from it all. There was nothing we didn't like. The hosts were fantastic explaining how everything worked. It was spotlessly clean, had everything you could possibly want. We ordered a meat breakfast which was fabulous from a local butcher and enjoyed the hot tub in the evening. We liked the quietness of the woodland and didn't hear anything from the other units, it was just perfect. Thank you Andrew and Clare, you obviously take a lot of pride in providing a great stay for your guests. Elaine and Matthew
read more
Stable Cottage Withernwick 8/21/2023
If you haven’t booked a stay here already l, do it!
Such a cosy welcoming place perfect for a relaxing stay.
Clare & Andrew amazing hosts with a fantastic attention to detail. The slow cooked meal as an optional purchase on arrival was just what we needed and so tasty!
We will definitely be back
read more
Ariah Skye Yeadon 8/21/2023
We knew from reading other reviews that it was going to be fab, and it was! We stayed in The Nest for two nights and had a wonderful time. It is a great base to explore the local area or to just relax and enjoy the setting, which is very pretty and peaceful.The huts are finished to a really high standard, they have everything you could need and Clare and Andrew are very friendly, welcoming and happy to help in any way. Andrew lit the hottub when we arrived and Clare picked up fish & chips for us. We also had a full english breakfast pack which was delicious. We just wish we were able to stay longer and are already looking forward to going back again. A big big thank you! xx
read more
Jemma Peacock 8/08/2023
My partner and I stayed in The Den for three nights recently and had such a great time. Andrew and Clare were brilliant hosts and have literally thought of everything! The huts are lovely, have all the amenities you could think of and the bed was extremely comfortable. We ordered the barbecue and breakfast packs, which are from a local butcher and we would highly recommend.
The site is perfect too, great for relaxing.
We can't wait to return! Many thanks.
read more
Jonathan Kirk 7/18/2023
What an amazing place! The hosts Andrew and Clare should be so proud of what they have created. From the moment we arrived, we couldn’t have asked for anything more. The attention to detail was absolutely fabulous. They have literally thought of every possible thing that you might need when staying. The huts and surroundings are beautiful. The location is fabulous. Andrew and Clare make themselves available if you need them. Offering bags of ice, ice creams and even offering to light and prepare the hot tub whilst we was out for the day in York so when we got back, it was all ready for us. You couldn’t get a better location. Best of both worlds because it’s a 15 min drive or bus journey from their gates into the centre of York. We will be back without a doubt. Thank you for a lovely break
read more
Hayley Stokes 7/18/2023
Wanted to visit York for my wife’s 40th birthday, so we decided to stay with Hart Lake Escapes. It was a fantastic weekend and we had the best of both worlds, with visiting the busy City via a bus and relaxing back at Hart Lake Escapes in the hot tub. Andrew and Clare are great hosts and they really do want you to have a great time. Would highly recommend 10/10, we’ll be back for sure!
read more
Luke Freemantle 7/14/2023
We loved everything about our shepherd's hut. We booked it for our 10th anniversary and Andrew and Clare left a lovely card and a bottle of bubbly for us. That was just the start...the attention to detail in the hut and surroundings was second to none. Absolutely everything was thought out and carefully considered. Communication throughout the booking process was friendly and made us confident that we had made the right choice. Each hut has it's own theme, and ours was The Hollow, and owls were referenced in the mugs, artwork and soft furnishings. It was just lovely! The hot tub was spectacular, just the right size for two and ready for us to jump in to on arrival, thanks to Andrew. We could say more, but really, just go!
read more
Caroline Ashford-Smith 6/25/2023
We had an amazing 2 nights stay in The Warren. The hut is extremely cosy and has everything you need for a romantic trip away. The huts are secluded and the wood fire hot tub is just perfect. Andrew and Clare are great hosts and made us feel very welcome and relaxed throughout our stay. The welcome pack was an added bonus with milk, bread, eggs, tea, coffee, butter, crisps and a moreish brownie. We loved it so much we didn't want to leave and are planning our next trip back soon.
read more
Emma Barrett 6/24/2023
We've officially found our new favourite place to stay in the north east.
I can't begin to describe how great this place is. From the moment you arrive, you are treated like royalty by the hosts who are very welcoming. We opted for the dinner option to be made prior to our arrival due to the long drive up from Devon and it was amazing! Tasted lovely!
We also opted for the breakfast pack which was packed full of lovely fresh produce.
The location is great too. Either a short drive to York itself or a 20 minute bus ride, with the bus stop being right outside the gates.
The hot tube was lush and easy to use/heat up. Plenty of wood was provided.
The actual shepherd hut is very nice inside, plenty of room for the two of us. It had everything we needed, even a little fan for when it got a bit hot.
The grounds were stunning. On our last night we had fish and chips sat beside the lake, watching wildlife and listening to the water.
Would highly recommend.
We will definitely be returning!
read more
Number Nine Studios 6/24/2023
I booked Hart Lake Escapes for my partners birthday, we were not disappointed Andrew and Clare are superb hosts and went above and beyond for us both. We stayed in The Warren, which was very pleasant and well equipped for our stay. I would highly recommend booking with Hart Lake Escapes, we will definitely be visiting again.
read more
David Williams 6/22/2023
Have just come back from a wonderful weekend staying at Hart Lake Escapes. Could not recommend this place enough! Clare and Andrew have created a little paradise just outside of York and it was perfect. The Shepard Huts are quaint and have all the bits and pieces you need. They have decorated to a really lovely standard and haven't scrimped and scraped when it comes to the comforts (including the comfiest mattress!) The hospitality of Clare and Andrew was amazing from beginning to end. We'd attended for my partners birthday celebrations and they were so helpful from time of booking until the week leading up in helping me organise. They ensured that the hot tub was hot on arrival and again on the Saturday on our return from being out for the day. They even offered us a lift into town on the Friday night.. talk about going above and beyond! Personally, thank you so much for your hospitality, we had the best time and can't wait to visit again in the future.
read more
Stephanie Pearson 6/05/2023
We have just returned from our second stay at Hart Lake Escapes (first time last October in The Roost and this time in The Den) and it was just as stunning as the first time. The attention to detail is second to none - Andrew and Clare have truly thought of everything you might need for the perfect getaway. They are fabulous hosts - very knowledgeable about the local area too which is super helpful. We loved our hut so much and the hot tub was the icing on the cake. So relaxing and just felt like a tiny slice of paradise! Would recommend to anyone 10/10!
read more
Emily Harris 6/03/2023
We stayed for two nights in The Nest hut, and it was amazing. Andrew and Clare were very welcoming and friendly, with some great suggestions of local things to do. The grounds were peaceful, quiet, and well looked after. The huts were lovely inside and out, with some really nice touches. The hot tub was perfect, especially at night under the stars. We would love to go back again and will 100% be recommending it to everyone we know.
read more
Mike 5/23/2023
Hart Lake escapes, absolutely amazing we were lost for words for how beautiful it is and how peaceful. Andrew and clare are lovely hosts they were very welcoming and helpful. the hot tub is great. the attention to detail in the hut is amazing it really is paradise we didn't want to leave. we will deffo return 🙂 x
read more
Jennifer Atkinson 5/22/2023
Where do I start … we have just returned from a weekend in the nest and all I can say is this place is just perfect ! I booked Hart Lake as a surprise for my boyfriends 40th birthday. He was blown away. We had the most incredible time, we have never felt more relaxed and didn’t want to leave. It was a beautiful setting so calming and relaxing. Everything is catered for and it’s just all the tiny little details that have been thought of. Nothing was to much trouble. Andrew and Claire were so warm and welcoming the personal touches just made it even more special. I’m so glad I found your incredible piece of heaven and we will definitely be back. Thank you !
read more
Emma Astley 5/22/2023
What a little gem of a find in a beautiful, secluded setting.
From start to finish Clare and Andrew were very friendly and welcoming. Advising of places to visit: hopping on the bus into York to getting fish and chips 5 minutes walk down the road and explaining everything we needed to know for our stay.
The accommodation was beautiful. Attention to detail, including a Welcome Pack and having a meal sat waiting for us on our arrival. Lovely products for us to try which Clare was on hand to offer advise on.
Thank for making our Anniversary so special with the card and fizz.
You have a wonderful property that you share ❤️
read more
Barb 5/16/2023
Just returned after 2 days with friends at Hart Lake. We stayed in the Nest and Roost huts and they were Fab-U-Luss....A beautiful and peaceful little gem on the outskirts of York.
Andrew + Clare are so welcoming, friendly and helpful. They have thought of everything. We had a ball. Absolutely Perfect few days. Oh and the beds are so comfy slept like a log
Thanks
read more
Russell Cartwright 5/07/2023
My partner booked a weekend getaway for my birthday at Hart Lake Escapes and it was lovely!
We stayed in the Roost, everything was so well thought out, and top quality.

Such a beautiful area it really feels like a bit of heaven in a busy city like York! It’s nice to have that serenity and if you are the sort of person/people that would like to see the city area then it’s not far from there either.

Also the reed diffuser they use is divine, I had to pick one up for myself!

Thanks to Andrew and Claire for their kindness 🙂
read more
Ella Beetson 5/06/2023
beautiful relaxing environment and very peaceful
read more
Neil Jackson 4/30/2023
I spent a weekend celebrating my Birthday and I honestly couldn’t have picked a more perfect place. The Shepherd’s Huts are so lovely and Claire and Andrew make you feel so warm and welcoming. Everything is top quality from the amazing food parcel you receive on arrival to the lovely bathroom lotions available. Robes for the hot tubs are provided. The towels are so soft just like the bedding! The hot tub is fab and easy to keep warm. We jumped on the bus which you can get from outside the site, into York and while we were there the hot tub was prepared for our arrival. Wood is provided free which is a wonderful addition. I’m really put off when sites charge you for extra wood which of course is needed and never cheap!
I highly recommend staying here and will again. I can not thank Claire and Andrew enough for being fabulous hosts. Truly a wonderful experience 💚
read more
Jessica Taylor 4/25/2023
me and my partner had an amazing weekend last weekend at there hot called the nest, it was beautiful, Andrew and Claire were amazing hosts and offered to help at every given opportunity. thank you for having us, we will definitely be back. 5 ✨⭐
read more
Rob Cairns 4/22/2023
We absolutely LOVED Hart Lake Escapes! Claire & Andrew have literally thought of everything. Such a cosy, beautiful atmosphere and wonderful people. The hot tub was amazing and I loved lighting the log burner in a morning. We will be coming back when we book our anniversary next year. Thank you so much xxx
read more
Jessica Rose Siddall 4/16/2023
It’s my 60th birthday and my children had bought me and my wife 2 night stay. It was a great surprise to me, then told me it’s a Sheppards Hut. At first I though it was going to be in a shed with a shower block and toilet.
How wrong I was. From arriving to leaving Andrew and Clare could not do enough for us. Never experienced such fantastic hosts.
We were taken to our hut, I could not believe my eyes. Everything was fantastic and very clean. My wife broke her Leg 6 months ago and was on crutches, so not possible to go anywhere.
It was just nice to chill out in the Hut. Your not overlooked, very private when trying to get in the hot tub.
We had a fabulous time and cannot wait to return. I would like to highly recommend a visit.
read more
Stuart Lowe 4/13/2023
We have just returned from the most peaceful stay at Hart Lake Escapes. Clare and Andrew couldn’t have been better hosts, they thought of every little detail and were always around if we had any questions. The huts are perfect, they have everything you could need and more. The hot tub was lit and ready for our arrival and Clare made sure to show us how to light both the hot tub and the indoor wood fire during our stay. We ordered the Tarragon chicken meal for one of our evening meals - it was delicious! We can’t wait to return again!
read more
Gemma Lauren 4/12/2023
We stayed in The Warren for two nights, and we had the most amazing experience from arriving until we left. We have already booked to come back again. Andrew and Clare are amazing. Everything that we could possibly need and more was provided, from the welcome basket to having those lovely soft throws to sit outside on an evening with.The photos do not do this place justice. Absolute 5 star break.
read more
Thomas Ord 4/10/2023
I would recommend Hart Lake Escapes to anyone looking for a gorgeous place to stay near York. The hut we stayed in was fantastic with everything you could possibly need to make your break special and Andrew and Clare are the most fantastic hosts. We will definitely be visiting again in the future ☺️
read more
Eden Loren Gardner 4/09/2023
Would definitely recommend the Hart Lake Escapes.
lovely stay from start to finish. Perfect location, feels so rural but yet so close to Yorks amenities.
Accommodation was lovely, especially with all the extras the hosts provided to make your stay extra special. We got a lovely bottle of bubbly 😍
Hosts are fabulous, can't do enough to ensure your stay is perfect.
Will definitely be back 😀
Stephen & Annabel x
read more
Bel Goodall 4/09/2023
Amazing and relaxing. A home away from home with added bonus of log fire and a hot tub! Nothing was too much and Andrew and Claire have thought of everything you need for a stay, even found bag clips in the bits and bobs box 😀 would definitely stay again, loved every second. Highly recommend the breakfast platter.
read more
Victoria Dewdney 4/06/2023
from start to finish our stay was perfect, on arrival Andrew and Clare were top hosts from catering to Dan's lactose intolerance with oat milk, vegan spread and snacks and the most amazing lactose free birthday cake which tasted and looked incredible, to having the hot tub warming up for us ready to have a dip. The Sheppard's Hut was perfect and lived up to all our expectations and more!!! looking forward to returning again and would highly recommend to our family and friends.
read more
Rachel Bowker 4/03/2023
There is very little I can add to all of these amazing reviews. The reviews are amazing because this is an amazing place to stay. From staying in a beautiful, well equipped hut in gorgeous surroundings (photos a mix from both visits), to the hard work and attention to detail put in by the fabulous hosts Clare and Andrew (and team). You are made to feel very welcome from the minute you arrive to the time you unfortunately have to leave.
The hot tub can be heated ready for your arrival and Andrew explains the best way to light it (if you need to) and keep it at a comfortable temperature. There is plenty of wood for the hot tub and the wood burner in the hut too.
We first visited to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and have just had our second stay for my birthday treat. Both times Clare and Andrew have been perfect hosts, willing to do anything for you (even leaving lovely cards and delicious goodies to help celebrate our anniversary and my birthday). With a pack of local products provided, including coffee, tea, bread and jam, your stay is made to make you feel special the whole time you are there.
If you want to leave your car and get the bus into York so you can do some shopping, sightseeing and visit some of the many fantastic bars, there is a bus stop just yards away from the entrance to grounds.
Rest assured, we will be back.
Thank you Clare, Andrew and team for making our time there so very special.
Ian and Karen xx
read more
Ian Gibson 4/02/2023
Oh my goodness what an amazingly beautiful place - in a fantastic setting.
Spotless , hosts can not do enough for you!!
We arrived on a damp day welcomed with a delicious veggie chilli in the slow cooker, a birthday cake and cookie for my Husband and , Andrew the host , had also fired up the hot tub so we unpacked and straight into the tub and relaxed from the second we got there !!
So many places to go to from there at short distances !!
Definitely visit again - a must try place. You won’t be disappointed!!!!
Thank you to the wonderful hosts Clare and Andrew 💕💕
read more
Harshida Patel - Brown 3/30/2023
This is an amazing place to get away from it all. A beautiful location to enjoy a fabulous break. Located with a short journey into York, ideal for daytime shopping and/or having a drink or two before coming back to a wonderful hot tub the relax for the rest of the night, taking in the gorgeous surroundings.
But the thing that really makes this accommodation so special is the attention to detail and personal touches by Clare and Andrew. They are amazing hosts who cannot do enough to make your stay such an enjoyable and memorable time.
This has been our second visit and will definitely not be our last.
read more
Ian Gibson 3/26/2023